Some Thoughts on the Dichotomy of Control

During the first week of the exercises on Living Like A: 52 Exercises for Cultivating a Good Life – a book authored by Gregory Lopez and Massimo Pigliucci – I have reflected on a Stoic concept called the dichotomy of control. I have recounted three experiences of mine last week and listed the aspects of that experience that I can control and what I cannot.

This exercise has been informative as it is illuminating. I have learned that there are some aspects in my daily and mundate life I thought at first I have control, but actually dont. For instance, I have come to realise that I can only control my intention (wanting to focus) and not the outcome (actually being able to concentrate).

By being aware of what I can control and what I cannot, I have become calmer and happier. The Stoic concept of the dichotomy of control – at least for me – is an effective tool in approaching any event or situation that we may come across in our path. This realisation is quite soothing to my emotional and mental health.

Now I am ready to proceed to the next exercise.

Leave a comment