Day 1 of Week 1, Live Like A Stoic: When Work Gets Overwhelming

Photo by Michael Burrows on Pexels.com

When swamped with work at the office, it is almost impossible not to feel overwhelmed. In the last few days, I feel exactly this way. My inbox was just overflowing with outstanding tasks that needs to be processed within a certain time period. Everyday, new cases come in and tasks are just piling up.

This is really making me stressed and anxious. I dreaded turning on my laptop this morning, which is sad, given that I love my job so much.

I see the amount of work on my account and I cannot help but feel already deflated and discouraged even before I start. I do not know where to begin. It seems that I am doing a lot and yet not accomplishing anything.

It is not only about the amount of work, but I also have difficult cases that I have.

Discover what’s really in your control, and what’s not

complete controlincomplete control
The intent not to multitaskIt is really difficult to focus on one specific task. Multitasking seems to be an automatic response overwhich I have no control. It feels sometimes that I am running of time.
A promise not to be distracted by my smartphoneIgnoring my smartphone is more difficult than I thought. Reaching out for my smartphone to check my social media seems to have become an impulse.
The desire to remain calmI was quite stressed as I begun with my day today. It is so difficult to remain calm. I do not have control over how my body reacts to stress.
Take a break regularly Actually taking a break especially when I have back to back phone calls as I did today.
The Dichotomy of Control

Afterthought

My day eventually turned-out ok. I managed to focus on the things I could control and things fell into its proper places. Focusing and remaining calm have helped me complete some tasks.

And I am also quite proud of myself, because I managed to tackle those complicated cases.

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of Week 1, Live Like A Stoic: When Work Gets Overwhelming

Leave a comment