Live Like A Stoic: A Do Over on A Weekly Exercises on Being Stoic

In my previous two posts, I have mentioned this interesting exercise book on Stoicism. The book is entitled Live Like A Stoic: 52 Exercises for Cultivating A Good Life authored by Massimo Piguliucci and Gregory Lopez.

From the title, one can deduce that there is a designated exercise per week. And the exercises – when done accordingly – will be completed within a year.

The reader – rather, the participant – does not only reflect on the philosophy of Stoicism, but actually practicing to be one. I for one, would like to proactively study this ancient school of thought and put them into practice in my daily life.

I have already attempted to do the first week exercise last week, but this time, I want to do them properly. So here I am, writing a proper introduction.

How to use the book

Each week starts with an introduction in which the authors discusses a Stoic theme upon which the exercise for that week is based.

The reader may start any week he/she wants to start, but it is best to start on Sunday. On this first day of the weak, one will read the entire chapter and then, will do the exercice from Monday through Saturday.

At the end of the week, the reader will reflect upon the exercise he/she completed. Then the reader will repeat the whole cycle on the succeeding week with a new chapter.

The participant may designate a specific time in a day. In my own case, I chose to do the exercises after dinner.

Week 1: Discover what’s really in your and what’s not.

The main theme is about the dichotomy of control, which is the main tenet of the Philosophy of Stoicism.

Stoicism teaches us to distinguish things in our lives that are within the realm of our control and those that are not. That is: complete control versus incomplete control.

In order to have a happier and more fulfilling life, one has to focus on the former and should not waste one’s time, energy and resources to the latter.

Week 1 exercise

Chose an event each day to write about on your journal. In my case, I will blog my entry instead.

This event will be used as a case study. We will then analyse the chosen even and will list those things that were in control and which weren’t.

I will start the exercise tomorrow after dinner.

Leave a comment