I could have done a different study

In one of my previous blog post, Thinking about those years I spent in Utrecht University, I have mentioned that the years I spent in the university are some of the happiest memories in life. And yet at the same time, I am wondering from time to time, what would have happened should I have chosen a different path.

Let us be honest, an academic education does not always guarantee suitable employment. I am quite lucky, because I managed to secure a career I love although it is still beneath the education I have attained. And I know a lot of people who are academically educated who are currently un employed.

Sometimes, I wonder: what if I have learned a useful trade instead? I could have been rich maybe. Or maybe not.

But you know what, earning money was not my motivation why i went to the university. I went there to enrich my mind and cultural capital.

Leave a comment