My Biggest Challenge: The Dutch Language

Learning a new language is never easy. And based on my experience, the Dutch language is a difficult language. Even some native speakers would claim that they have difficulties in speaking and writing their own language properly.

The Dutch language is not even my second language. My second language is English. So you have an idea how I am struggling to communicate through the Dutch language on a daily basis.

So yeah, I think my biggest challenge in life is using this beautiful and yet difficult language called Dutch. Maybe I could have achieved more if I am a Dutch native speaker.

After living here in the Netherlands for more than 20 years, i do still find the Dutch language to be intimidating. But I am getting everyday. Though, I think that funny foreign accent will stay.

Leave a comment