Bloganuary 26: What is your favourite part about yourself? My ability to reflect on my self

Socrates

Socrates is an ancient philosopher most of us at least have heard of. The school of thought I am now so drawn into, namely, Stoicism, has been inspired by the teachings of Socrates. According to him:

The unexamined life is not worth living.

I am not a perfect person. Like others, I am very flawed. But if there is one trait of mine that I am rather proud of, that is my ability to examine my self and my life in general.

I have this habit of constantly challenging myself and reevaluating my position. While I always try to do the right thing, I always reserve a possibility that I might be in the wrong.

If I have some misunderstandings with someone, I do not instantly assume being right. I examine my self and approach the situation from the perspective of others.

I do not claim monopoly to truth and virtue. Nobody does.

In our world today in which we are fed by information that buttressed what we think we already know, I always try to listen to the arguments of people I do not necessarily agree with.

Everyday, I examine my position, the way I think, the way I lead my life. That is something I really like about myself. Writing – whether it be through journaling or blogging – is a very helpful tool in self reflection.

9 thoughts on “Bloganuary 26: What is your favourite part about yourself? My ability to reflect on my self

Leave a comment