Blogging for the Sake of Writing

Blogging – along with other social media platform – is one of the way in which one could express one’s self. As a social animals, we have deep seated desires to communicate.

We also want to leave our mark. A way of saying: I have been here. A goal which – among many other platforms – can be achieved by blogging.

This blog that you are now reading is not the only blog I manage. I have kept many blogs in the past that are now in active and still managing two others with their own respective themes, topics, and formats.

When I get inspired, I cannot help but to blog about it. The school of thought of Stoicism has inspired me and here I am blogging about it.

In the past, I was obsessing about how many followers I got, how many likes I have acquired, and how often I receive comments on my blog entries. I have been obsessed about these unimportant things to the extent that I forgot what is more important, namely, writing.

Stoic philosophy teaches us to do our best in what ever we are doing and we should not waste our time and energy to the things that are less important and that beyond our control. Writing is more important that the attention we get and how people respond to our content is certainly beyond our control.

The ultimate goal is to perform the task before us to the best of our ability and enjoy every second of it. Success is actually a side-effect of doing one’s best and not the main objective itself. So what if I will not become an influencer? Having a content that is true to my voice is far more important.

So this time, I should train myself to focus on the quality of my writing, not for the sake of traffic, followers, and likes. But for the sake of writing itself. Enjoy what ever you do and success will follow.

6 thoughts on “Blogging for the Sake of Writing

    • Hello Stuart Danker, thank you for visiting and for your comment. I really appreciate it.

      Indeed, I agree with you. Focusing on what is more important is indeed a mindset that is not easy to maintain. But it is an exercise. The more we train ourselves with this way of thinking, the better we get.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment